New Year’s Celebrations

Written by Admin,   on Dec 31, 2019

New Year’s Eve is the biggest party of the year!

It’s a celebration that brings people together to celebrate all the potential that a new year offers. It’s a day of hope and celebration.
And it’s not too far away either!
Soon, people from around the world will be ringing in the new year with fireworks, festivals, friends, parties, and songs. It’s a fun holiday that knows no nationality.

Did you know?

· In order to realign the Roman calendar with the sun, Julius Caesar had to add 90 extra days to the year 46 B.C. when he introduced his new Julian calendar.

· Septem is Latin for "seven," octo is "eight," novem is "nine," and decem is "ten."

· The earliest recording of a new year celebration is believed to have been in Mesopotamia, c. 2000 B.C. and was celebrated around the time of the vernal equinox, in mid-March.

· The first time the new year was celebrated on January 1st was in Rome in 153 B.C.

· The month of January did not even exist until around 700 B.C., when the second king of Rome added the months of January and February

· At various times and in various places throughout medieval Christian Europe, the New Year was celebrated on Dec. 25, the birth of Jesus; March 1; March 25, the Feast of the Annunciation; and Easter.

· Tonga, Samoa and Kiribati will be the first to see 2020. The last to celebrate (even if no-one lives there) will be uninhabited US territories like Baker Island and Howland Island.

· Rio's New Year's (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) celebration is one of the world's largest New Years Eve celebration.

· Almost all the world now use the Gregorian calendar and celebrate the new year on 1 January each year, but this is just a one-day celebration. There are countries like China, Korea (N/S), Vietnam which celebrate a new year on different dates.

· Pope Gregory XIII reestablished January 1 as New Year’s Day in 1582.

· Because pigs represent progress and prosperity in some cultures, pork appears on the New Year’s Eve table in Cuba, Austria, Hungary, Portugal and other countries.

Leave a comment